Suematsu Award 〝Fundamentals and Developments of Digital Technology"

The Suematsu Award "Fundamentals and Developments of Digital Technology" provides a broad range of support for researchers focusing on areas such as computers, robotics, and networks, and for research into applications of digital technology.

Background to the award

Former Tokyo Tech President and Honorary Professor Yasuharu Suematsu was awarded the Japan Prize in 2014 for his contributions to the development of high-capacity, long-distance optical fiber communications through his research at the Institute, particularly his groundbreaking research related to dynamic single-mode lasers. He donated a portion of the prize money to Tokyo Tech in hopes of encouraging young scientists and engineers to pursue research in diverse fields, develop new technology systems, and delve into the unexplored domains of science.
Suematsu hopes to create a rising tide of activities that will progressively reveal the shape of the future. The Tokyo Institute of Technology Fund created the Suematsu Fund to promote research in line with Suematsu's vision. President and Representative Director Hisao Taki of Gurunavi Inc., a Tokyo Tech alumnus and supporter of the Tokyo Institute of Technology Fund since its inception, donated a significant additional sum, making the creation of this award possible.

2018 winners of the award

Tetsuo Kodera, Ryohei Banno, and Norihisa Kawashima were selected as the first-ever recipients of the Suematsu Digital Technology Award by a panel of judges from both inside and outside the Institute. Additionally, in commemoration of the award's establishment, Special Awards for Remarkable Achievement were presented to Satoshi Matsuoka and Hidetoshi Nishimori.

2018 winners of the Suematsu Digital Technology Award

Associate Professor
School of Engineering
Development of fundamental technologies toward semiconductor quantum computers
Research Staff
School of Computing
Coexisting load distribution and low latency in pub/sub messaging
Assistant Professor
School of Environment and Society
Development of low-cost system with computational simulation, sensor monitoring, and networking technologies for nudging energy-saving behavior in buildings using passive design strategies

2018 winners of the Special Award for Remarkable Achievement

Specially Appointed Professor
School of Computing
Quantum Computing Unit, Institute of Innovative Research

Awarding Ceremony

The Awarding Ceremony was held on September 12.
               【Memorial photo of the ceremony】